OT: Somebody Called the Sheriff On Me

If you don't want to read a rant. Stop right now and hit your kill key on this thread. This is a rant. Its also not alarm related.

I was a licensed contractor for 23 years. Never had a complaint on my license (a real complaint) and only had two BBB complaints. Both of the later just didn't want to honor the terms they agreed to and their letters just read like they didn't want to pay their bill. After the second time and the BBB listed me with a B while listing companies I knew first hand engaged in fraudulent practices with an A I told them they were prohibited from listing my company at all.

Well recently I had a customer pay for a custom job. I told them up front that there was about 16 weeks custom work already paid on my jobs board, and that all jobs were done in the order they are paid. PERIOD NO EXCEPTION and I understand if they want to look for somebody else.

That is pretty much the standard in the market niche I work in now. Some new guys do work on spec or take partial deposits, but they quickly learn like I did that you get stuck with items on your shelf you can't sell and can't get paid for. Lots of guys don't tell customers how long its going to take, and they don't respond to demanding emails at all. I tell them upfront and I try to always respond to their requests for updates. I actually had a customer tell me early on, "No Bob. I will pay you up front just like I would have to with anybody else decent in the business." I've been that way ever since. I have about 14-16 weeks work on the custom jobs board right now so obviously its a workable model.