Killed my 2600 Router - Help!?

Im a newbie trying to get some home lab experience on a 2651 that was given me. I have screwed it up pretty royally and I'm looking for a bit of help, hoping you can provide some.

I wish I could show you, by pasting a copy of the telnet session but the router will no longer even boot to rommon>. I of course tried to upgrade the IOS without backing up the old one. (I know)

I get a couple of strange characters that I've never seen before and a blinking cursor, I can no longer type or hit return. The characters are pasted below but they dont show up the same as they do on the hyperterm screen.

=F0p=F8=F0p=F8=E8d=F8

Ever hear of such a thing? I have tried the xmodem feature but with no luck.

Reply to
Rob
Loading thread data ...

Have you checked the factory settings on the console connection and ensured your serial is setup right? This often happens when there is a mismatch of some kind, of course it could also mean a lot of other things, but that is the first thing I would check.

Reply to
Trendkill

The only thing that this can be, other than broken hardware, is that you terminal (PC) is set to a different bit rate than the router. Default is 9600, 1 stop bit, no parity. (no handshaking too).

best thing is to try the default and if no change try some other settings. Would not take too long to try all possibilities.

Reply to
bod43

Hello All:

I am planning to Buy CCNP lab on sale from ebay to practice the exam. Any suggstion on prices and good LAB equipments?

Your help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Regards,

I wish I could show you, by pasting a copy of the telnet session but the router will no longer even boot to rommon>. I of course tried to upgrade the IOS without backing up the old one. (I know)

I get a couple of strange characters that I've never seen before and a blinking cursor, I can no longer type or hit return. The characters are pasted below but they dont show up the same as they do on the hyperterm screen.