Notifier

With regard to the VoIP thing, here, in my area it's not a problem to those who've had the foresight to make preparation and are using panels that can cope with the new technology. We cornered Cablevision right at the beginning and when they started disconnecting alarm systems "invited" them to an association meeting where they were justly "roasted". Then we cooperated in helping them train and set up their installation procedures along with providing them with new and old panels programed to various formats, to test to make sure they would all operate over the Internet. We've been assured that they all do. Even CID. Now they have different "crews". Those that get sent out to install VoIP with alarms and those that don't. The alarm system is tested to CS before the installer leaves.

I've been sending notices to my clients for about two years now, warning about the short comings of VoIP and that I'll either have to vist or download changes to their system at the cost of a service call, and that they will also have to sign a release that they've been notified of the potential problems.

Napco has made it official by sending a notice to all their dealers that their equipment will work with VoIP.

So what problem is there with VoIP? For me(?) ......... none.

Reply to
Jim
Loading thread data ...

The problem you have is your chosen panel (Napco) has extremely limited CID and SIA support, hell "I" would be sending 4/2 as well if I were working with those panels but Its not a question of setting up the format, its an issue that yes 4/2 may work now but it might not in the future when the providers decide to make some goofy change in the protocol. I've already seen that scenario happen which is why I don't trust VoIP