Allegro vs. Lynx for a small student apartment

I'm preparing to move into a new apartment, and the time has come to choose a burglar alarm system.

Alarms have been a bit of a hobby of mine for quite a few years, so while I'm going into this with far less knowledge than most of the regular posters here who have years of professional experience behind them, I'd like to think of myself as one who possesses enough knowledge to design and install a limited system for a small apartment.

As a student, I lack the resources to contract this out to someone, so I really have no choice but to go the DIY route.

The building is of historical significance, and the lease does not permit hardwire systems so my initial inclination to pursue a Vista hardwire or hybrid system is going to have to be set aside.

My current options as I see them are:

- GE Allegro

- Ademco Lynx

- GE Simon

- Powermax

The DSC Envoy seems to have earned a place of infamy among both professionals and DIY-ers alike, so I have kept it off the list (no one even seems to sell it to DIY-ers anymore anyway).

The apartment itself has an open floorplan. The unit sits on the ground floor of a building, with the bedroom and living room side by side facing the street with two windows in each room. Directly behind these two rooms (no hallway between them) lay the kitchen/entry (two doors, one leading to the hallway, one leading elsewhere in the building) with a bathroom off to one side. The bathroom and kitchen also contain one window apiece that lead to a miniscule, fairly inaccessible courtyard.

It's not quite a "standard" layout by any means.