ADT Yard Signs

There are websites that cater to police badges and miniatures. Some consider them collectables. IIRC, there has been some restriction on them as of late.

Reply to
Steve
Loading thread data ...

Say what you will, it was quite funny........

Reply to
Steve

Yep. I think Texas is one that has some heavy restrictions on their Texas Star, and that goes way back.

Reply to
Bob Worthy

Keep in mind that I'm not a lawyer but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night

Reply to
Mark Leuck

I wouldn't think so but again I'm no lawyer

Reply to
Mark Leuck

That depends if you have a non-functional firearm

Reply to
Mark Leuck

Try putting something up with the word "Kentucky" in it

Reply to
Mark Leuck

Nonsense. Monitronics wouldn't spring for a Holiday Express. js

Reply to
alarman

Yes, especially since ADT had the opportunity to remove the signs before selling you the truck and chose not to do so.

Trademark law is primarily about identifying the source of goods and services. In the example you gave, where someone is using the name of your business without permission, to try and make some money, it's a trademark violation because the public will probably be confused into thinking they are buying from you.

Big companies like ADT are so well known, their trademarks are known as "famous marks," and they get extra protection under the law. For example, you can't open a hamburger stand and call it McDonald's, even if your name is McDonald. But if your ADT truck is just parked in the driveway, it's not being used in commerce, and the public is not being confused.

Where ADT may have a point on the yard signs is this: suppose some DIYer puts in his own piece of shit system, puts up some ADT yard signs to make it look official...and the system starts causing lots of false alarms. People see the yard signs and blame ADT, and maybe they don't buy an ADT system because of it. The public is confused as to the source of the alarm system.

- badenov

Reply to