Netgear WGR614 firewall issues

I'm a newbie when it comes to wireless. I installed a Netgear WGR614 v.6 router, and eventually got it to work OK. I have only one other computer on my home network for now, a Dell Inspiron E1705 laptop.

My questions:

1. I can't access the laptop and it can't access my PC when I have my Agnitum Outpost v 1.0 freeware firewall acitve on my desk PC. When I turn off Outpost, everything works OK. Do I really need Outpost on my PC now? Should I turn off Microsoft firewall on my laptop? It's already off on the PC.

1. If netgear installed its own firewall, how do I adjust its controls? Outpost would occasionally ASK me if I wanted my computer to access certain sites (mostly for updates). I haven't seen any such requests yet from Netgear. I see no icons on my desktop for it. The box says it has a double firewall (NAT and SPI), but as I installed netgear I don't recall seeing any info on it.

Thanks.

Reply to
46erjoe
Loading thread data ...

A wireless hacker can join your network on the wireless side and be all over the top of your machines wired or wireless if they are not protected properly. A personal FW/packet filter only allowing traffic between the two IP(s) used and blocking all other IP(s) on that router should be implemented.

And you're not going to see that either as software solutions running on routers and FW appliances don't have some kind of junk application control as do so many personal FW/packet filter solutions. The router is to protect the network or the LAN and the software on the router is not running on the computer with its O/S, like a personal FW/packet filter.

You're not going to see any either.

You should learn something about a NAT router as that is what you have that providing the protection from the Interne and is protecting the LAN. .

formatting link
Here are some other links about FW solutions host based software or appliance based, not a personal FW/packet filter as those are not FW solutions.