alarm system

hi my question is simple i install cable and voip systems i havent had the chance to work o a house that has an alarm system. what is the basic connection to look for at the nid when i tie in the voip system? i know i have to run a seperate pair from the cable/voip modem to the nid but from there i still cannot grasp the idea on how the alarm is hooked up to the nid or what color wires were used, is there any thing differnt i have to do or can i just hook up my blue-blue/white as usual. i have been cabling for 9 yrs now but with our new phone service and differnt color wiring i do feel a litte intimidated ask me anything about broadband connections and can most likley give you an answer but with this phone wiring stuff im GREEN. so any help or ideas or if you know about diagrams i can look at please let me know. thanx

Reply to
m.klaput
Loading thread data ...

Don't bother most alarm systems will not reliably transmit over VoIP. Inform the customer and the alarm company before messing with anything.

For POTS lines; basically the alarm panel is the first phone on the house line...so the street feed goes directly to ONLY the alarm panel, then comes back out and feeds all the house lines. What colors??? There is no real standard I use red/green for street, yellow/black to feed the house... or blue pair for street, orange pair feeds house. Pretty easy to figure out if you open the RJ block at the panel and look at the pairs used.

Reply to
Crash Gordon

If there's an RJ31X jack installed (there should be) for the alarm there will be a 4-conductor wire from the NID to the RJ31X, which is located next to or inside of the alarm control panel.