Re: Making my own cables?

Hi all,

I'm looking for recommendations on a good A/V Receiver for a home theater. I'm a novice in this area. If there are any good websites that do reviews and comparisons of A/V receivers this would be very helpful also. I'm open to all recommendations on learning more about home theater and specifically the sound (receivers, speakers, wiring, setup, etc).

Thanks a lot for your help.

TH

Reply to
TH
Loading thread data ...

specifically

After some research I ordered a Yahama rx-v750:

formatting link
sets up the volumes using a mic and isn't too expensive. I'll let you know how it sounds when I hear it.

You might consider subscribing to Sound and Vision. I'm sure some of the reviews could be biased by advertising, but you can learn a lot from reading it. I find it makes great bathroom reading (not meant as an insult).

Good luck.

Reply to
larrylook

formatting link

If on a budget, still try to get your components piece by piece, on sale - maybe not the latest and greatest component - maybe something thats a little old, but a great price. I think you can put together a real 5.1 system you'll be happier with. I didn't spend a ton on my basement system - but you want to duck when the missiles are fired in the Bond movies! That's what you hope for. Action movies are great when you're sorrounded by great sound.

Reply to
larrylook

The all the rave receiver right now is the Pioneer VSX1014TX-K. It does

7.1, its THX certified and has MCACC which sets up your speakers and calibrates room size, speaker distance and size then automatically adjusts. You would be hard pressed to find a receiver with more features and better sound for the price (about $400US).

young...

TH wrote:

Reply to
Youngin...

Friends don't like friends buy bose.

BobbieBrown77 wrote:

one....

formatting link

Reply to
Eric Kinsinger

formatting link
It sets up the volumes using a mic and isn't too expensive. I'll let you