Patch Vs. Crossover Cables

Hi everyone,

Can some people chime in as to whether or not patch cables are the same as crossover cables? Are they or are they not the same? If you do not already know the answer I would prefer you not respond. Please do not look on Google to get your answer. :)

I recently bought three crossover cables from ComputerCableStore.com. When the cables arrived I found they were actually patch cables, not crossover cables. When I e-mailed the customer service person about the problem she insisted that "patch" is just another term for "crossover". In other words, ComputerCableStore.com is claiming there is no difference between patch and crossover cables.

I'm not an Ethernet expert but I'm pretty sure (about 99.9%) that crossovers are different from patch. Is it true or is the customer service person from ComputerCableStore.com correct?

Thanks.

Reply to
Tony
Loading thread data ...

""patch" is just another term for "crossover"" is incorrect.

Crossover cables are wired differently but look identical to patch cables. Every factory-made crossover cable I ever seen was clearly labeled as such. If it doesn't say "crossover", it's probably not one.

Patch cables are wired "straight through". Crossover cables have signals crossed.

Reply to
Al Dykes

Two different definitions here, one is a generic usage description ("patch cable") and one is wiring (pin out) scheme description ("cross-over").

A patch cable just a phrase to describe the usage of a short cable. It does not specify the wiring scheme, i.e. straight-through or cross-over.

It is usually a short 3 ft. cable that connects two devices together, such as the house cable termination patch panel to a hub or switch located in your equipment room, as opposed to the cabling inside the wall (house cable) or from office wall jack to the computer NIC (you could usually just call this the network cable to the computer).