Outpost questions..

Nov 09, 2004 2 Replies

I have a few questions regarding Outpost firewall..



I installed an older version of the freeware program, and when it asked me if I would like to update I accepted. The result was that it UPGRADED to shareware v2.x, with a 30 day trial period. My question is, what happens after that ? Does it downgrade to the freeware version, or does it continue running, or does it stop ??



Seems there should be a difference between update and upgrade.



Second, when I run Hijack this it tells me that the ... \\Outpost\\trash.exe is running. What is that ?



Thanks for any help..


-- KHaled



e-mail: khaledihREMOVEUPPERCASELETTERS at fusemail dot net (correcting antispam crap..) please start your subject line with the string "==NG=="



It stops, but you can always uninstall and re-install the free version.

It's the 'ad trashcan' window that's used for dragging-and-dropping ads into the 'ad blocking' plugin.

You might want to do a search at the forums at

formatting link
for your questions - lotsa people there who use the program and probably came up with the same questions.

My understanding is the pro version will stop functioning after 30 days. It does not revert to a freeware version.

Seems your right.

I don't know. Check the help files that come with it and find out the function of the trash.exe in outpost.

Join the Discussion

Have something to add? Share your thoughts — no account required.

Didn't find your answer?

Ask the community — no account required