cisco 7940G phone and Protocol Application Invalid

I'm an absolute beginner with a cisco 7940G phone: display says 'Protocol Application Invalid'.

I bought this phone off ebay so I could learn about IP phones, (it arrived only this morning) but google shows this is also called a 'bricked' phone. I don't know where to start with this problem. I have a cisco router and I'm familiar with that using hyperterminal but I don't know how to track down the ip address inside this phone, it has no console port. I'm also familar with tftp (I use tftfd32) but again I don't know how to find the ip address of the phone or some point to start at. I've trawled numerous cisco docs and other stuff on google but I'm stuck. I did a factory reset of the phone that proceeded correctly (powered up while holding the # key in) but then the Protocol Application Invalid message came back. None of the buttons on the phone produce any response. Thanks for any pointers.

Reply to
tg
Loading thread data ...

First, here is a link to describe the problem, which is most likely a subnet/IP mismatch and inability to get to its image or boot file:

formatting link
What is your VoIP server going to be?

If we are talking asterisk or trixbox, you will need to install a SIP image, get the necessary boot/config files on a tftp server, make sure you match the mac and username/passwords appropriately. The phone needs to boot, get an IP and tftp address (or you need to configure manually by unlocking the phone (pass should be cisco123 i think), and setting IP and tftp manually), and get to the config files that tell it what server to communicate with. The process is similar with CM or CM Express, although the config on the server is different.

Reply to
Trendkill

First, here is a link to describe the problem, which is most likely a subnet/IP mismatch and inability to get to its image or boot file:

formatting link