3550 GBIC question

hi all,

i am new to use the 3550- SMI. especially GBIC installation. recently , i bought a new one , after install gbic but no light shown(the status led). even green or amber. no light. is it normal ? or need some config the switch before i use the gbic

thanks paul

Reply to
b.mwlam
Loading thread data ...

Hi,

Depends, do you have to GBICs connecting two switches up or have you just put the GBIC in the switch and not connected it to anything?

Cheers

Matt

Reply to
Matty M

thanks for your reply. i try to power on alone(one switch). and i also try to stack with the

2900XL with fibre. only 2900XL side the led is green. but no led in 3550.

thanks paul Matty M =E5=AF=AB=E9=81=93=EF=BC=9A

Reply to
b.mwlam

Hello,

which GBIC do you have (e.g. the 1000BASE-SX GBIC, 1000BASE-LX/LH GBIC, or the GigaStack GBIC) ? Make sure you are using the right cable (check the link below for the different GBICs and the fiber modes supported). Also, check if your cable might be faulty: connect both receive ends of the cable to the same GBIC, if the cable is ok on the receive end, your GBIC LED should light up. Do the same with the transmit ends...

HTH,

GP

Reply to
nazgulero
1000base-sx ws-g5484. i checked the cisco web site. but the fibre not sure whether is exactly fit the switch. only knew it is a multi-mode fibre. however, i can tell more detail about this, when i connect the two switch with the fibre(2900XL and 3550)from the beginning no light of the two switchs. but after i type the command in the 3550 "speed nonogetiation" the light of 2900XL is on. does it mean i can send the command to 2900XL through the fibre? no other cable connection between these two switchs except the fibre.

pls help and thanks very much

paul nazgulero =E5=AF=AB=E9=81=93=EF=BC=9A

Reply to
b.mwlam

If it's SX or LH/LX GBIC, you can use a fiber patch cord to "loop" your TX to RX ports, and you should get a light. It will check GBIC itself.