Fiber to 50-pair conversion

Hello all. I need to replace an old building-to-building 50-pair burried cable (for voice) and was wondering if I can use an existing Fiber run.

If so. What do I need on each end of the run? copper -> fiber / fiber -> copper device?

I'll appreciate any input as I'm new at this.

Regards,

- Frank

Reply to
FratorMCSE
Loading thread data ...

You asked for it.

Very carefully, split the fibre into 50 slivers. ;-)

Actually, the answer depends on what you want to carry. Voice? Data? Network? Etc.?

Reply to
James Knott

Possibly. That fiber pair is almost certainly good for 10 Mbit/s (most likely more), and 50 voice lines need 3.2 kbit/s, but that's uncompressed and 100%usage.

Reply to
Robert Redelmeier

Hey guys, a couple of things here. Voice channels are only 56 or 64K when they are digitized. But for the issue about replacing the 50-pair tie cable. You would need four strands of fiber and four channel banks having the appropriate interfaces.

All-in-all it would be cheaper and easier to replace the 50-pair with a new one that is at least Cat3.

Rodgers Platt

Reply to
Justin Time

????

A standard voice channel is 64 Kb/s Perhaps you meant 3.2 Mb/s?

Reply to
James Knott

50 voice lines need 50 times the 64 kbit/s which makes 3.2 Mbit/s.
Reply to
Tomi Holger Engdahl

Correct. That post "escaped" early. Note there was no --sig.

I also intended to add that fiber->copper is normally Ma's stuff. RTs are full of this sorts of gear. OP should talk to his PBX vendor to see if they have fiber units (likely).

-- Robert

>
Reply to
Robert Redelmeier

Used to be. Nowadays it seems everything has gone from circuit switched to packet switched. But I don't know if that means that inexpensive used circuit switched gear is available. It may be more economical to replace the cable.

Reply to
Watson A.Name - "Watt Sun, th