How to and WHEN to change over from a CAT 5 cable to FIBER ends to insulate two METAL buildings 150 feet apart for EMI and RFI deterence

I am not certain if this is the group that helped me before but...............

I am doing a new pull in a buried 2" pvc pipe between two metal buildings. approximately 130-150 feet with 3 90 degree elbows. BEcause of the 90's I suppose I should use PLENUM rated cables (of either type) since it's a little tougher and I don't want to knick it up

I am under the impression that the best way to do this is to run CAT5e or CAT 6 and switch to FIBER at both ends.

OR, better just to run the entire run in FIBER. I know the costs are higher for fiber materials and I have never terminated any yet in my "career" as a network installer as I am an Electrical Contractor/ ELECTRICIAN who only does these things on a very limited basis, and only for customers who understand this. In this case, for my Wifes employer who is very limited in the money department and this is mostly as a favor to her.

Awhile back, some may remember my questions about timeclocks on a network for this same company......................

You guys were very helpful then.........maybe again you knowledgeable types will come thru again

THANKS,

Roscoe

Reply to
Roscoe Pendoscoe
Loading thread data ...

That's your best bet. In a lightning strike or other electrical transient, you'll lose the equipment on both sides of the Cat5 that runs between your buildings.

Reply to
William P.N. Smith

(snip)

As far as I understand, bulk fiber is about the same cost as bulk UTP, though the connectors are a little more expensive. For a relatively long link the relative cost should be pretty close.

For lightning protection I could imagine terminating a UTP cable in a thick plastic box, converting to fiber, and bringing it out, powering the conversion electronics from the remote end, or using some kind of isolation system. I can't imagine that being cheap, though.

-- glen

Reply to