Vsita 15P programming question

All electrical and electronic manufacturers designate "normally open" as the device state when the relay, switch, etc is in its resting state with no signal applied. Therefore, if no magnet is applied to a reed switch, the contacts are not closed and the switch is "normally open". However, my Ademco manual talks about normally open circuits vs. normally closed circuits. Is "normal" in alarm language considered to be with all windows and doors closed with no alarm condition? Or is the normal state considered to be when the windows are open, no magnet applied, contact open? The book does not make a distinction between the definitions as related to devices vs. circuits and their explanation is somewhat ambiguous. I suppose I could program it both ways and see which one works, but it would be easier to do it right the first time.

Bob

Reply to
Robertm
Loading thread data ...

Good grief, how old ARE you? I worked in the electronic industry for 40 years and never came across what you describe.

Bob

Reply to
Robertm

To carry this one step further, then it would mean the EOLR would be in series instead of being in parallel with the last device on the line? If that's the case, then it would make no difference if the EOLR is at the last device or in the can.

Bob

Reply to
Robertm

I wasn't a tech, I'm an engineer, designed and built industrial test equipment.

Bob

Reply to
Robertm

Yes, you are correct. I was thinking the fault would be an open. With only one device on the line, it's highly unlikely that the wire would somehow short together in the cable but I suppose anything is possible. Someone might drive a nail into the wall or a rat might chew into the wire.

Bob

Reply to
Robertm

Well, sort of. Years ago it varied somewhat from one manufacturer to the next.

Yep.