Newbie cable question

There really isn't a standard.

Personally I use red/blk for power, yell/grn for loops (or white if there isnt a yellow)... whatever works for you...just once you establish a standard do all your systems the same way.

Reply to
Crash Gordon
Loading thread data ...

Did a takeover lastweek...actually it was never fired up, so I'd call it an abandoned takeover. Anyway, this one drove me nuts..orig installers used whatever colors they felt like...some windows were on red/green, some on yellow/green, powered devices were red/green for power, white/black for loop. What a pain in the butt.

No wire numbers, no description of anykind of where wires went...no doubt the musta went outta biz.

| > I am a total newbie to this group | >

| > can someone tell me if there is a colour code standard for wiring alarms | >

| > I have the alarm cable with | >

| > red | > black | > green | > yellow | > white | > blue | >

| > which colour is normally used for which job as in the tamper circuit and | > NC | > circuit | >

| > any help please | >

| >

| |

Reply to
Crash Gordon

Hello all

I am a total newbie to this group

can someone tell me if there is a colour code standard for wiring alarms

I have the alarm cable with

red black green yellow white blue

which colour is normally used for which job as in the tamper circuit and NC circuit

any help please

Reply to
jhg

Reason he went out of business is ...... he was color blind.

He could never figure out what colors went where either.

Reply to
Jim

Actually some higher security systems do not have any colors on the wiring or any indication to tell which wire is which. Or may use colors at "random" for the same reason.

One thing you don't want in this business is every company to use the same standard for wiring. (In reality, it is actually quite difficult to get every installer in just *one* company to use the same colors for anything! So this makes servicing the systems quite difficult at times...)