Color code for home alarm wiring

I am building a new home and it comes standard with a alarm pre-wire. I have over 30 years experience with electronics, but not with alarms. I plan to buy a Power 832 or vista-20P and install it myself. Could someone provide me the standard wiring color code, or point me to a web site.

Thanks for any help or advise, Bob T

Reply to
me
Loading thread data ...

You are on your own figuring the wiring out because many prewires i have seen are deliberately fooled with to keep DYI from working on it. you are going to have to use a ohm meter and meter the wiring out. The standard wiring code notmally is red is pos neg is black and white and green is the trip loop but iyou can find all different combinations in systems.

goodluck.

Reply to
Nick Markowitz

There's not standard per se. A lot use red/black for power, yellow/green or white/green for the loop.

Every now and then I'll run across some takeover that used the total opposite scheme which always drives me nuts as it's not logical to me

Reply to
Crash Gordon

For most systems the wiring is simple enough. Using 22/4 solid cable, red is +12V; black is -12V; white or yellow is zone return and green is common. Keypad runs are similar, except that green and yellow (or white) are for data.

You're welcome. I have an online alarm store called

formatting link

Reply to
Robert L Bass

or stranded. I see more problems with solid down the road, than with stranded, but that is open to opinions. Nothing says you have to use one over the other.

of course you do. You advertise it every chance you get here on the newsgroup

called

Check B B B in Sarasota, Florida.

Reply to
Bob Worthy

i've always preferred solid over stranded for 90% of my installs...but fail to see how you'd color code differently for stranded vs. solid :-))