Adding Ademco LYNXR Zone

I am having trouble adding some wireless zones to my Ademco LYNXR series home security system. I studied the manual, and I was able to add 4 zones, and I believe they are configured correctly. The system seems to recognize the new zones, but I am getting sporadic false alerts from some of the zones.

Another odd behaviour that I noticed is that when I reset the panel, all seems well. Then when I test one of the zones by opening a window, the system recognises that the window is open, but when I closed the window, the system does not recognize that the window was closed.

At first, I felt that I had not placed the magnet close enough to the transmitter, so I staged up a test platform, and placed the magnet exactly where it is meant to be placed, and the system does not recognise when the magnet returns to the "closed" position.

My second thought was that I am using old batteries in the transmitters, but I think that my system is set up to recognise when a battery is low.

My third thought is that I am using the wrong battery. I added an ADEMCO 5815 wireless transmitter, and used a 5899 battery. The 5899 box says that it can be used on a 5700 series as well. Maybe this is the reason that I am seeing issues.

So, based on all of that, I have 2 questions:

-Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can do to resolve this?

-ADT is the company who monitors my system, do I need to notify them when I add a zone?

Reply to
BFlaherty_2003
Loading thread data ...

After looking at my system again, it appears as though the transmitter that I was using has 2 zones, or loops. I was using the incorrect loop. When I changed to using the second loop, it seems to have started working better.

Reply to
BFlaherty_2003
5899 is the magnet and almost any magnet will work if it is strong/close enough to pull the switch. Yah..you probably programmed it for the wrong loop.