Cisco 837 vs 857 ADSL Routers

I'm confused - what is the difference between the 837 and the 857?

What I need it for:

• 8Mbps ADSL access to Internet (web sites, email, newsgroups etc) for a small office. (i.e protocols HTTP, SMTP, POP, NNTP, FTP)

• NAT support so all users share a single external fixed IP-address.

• VPN support (not just pass-through) so that the router will initiate a VPN tunnel to a customer site (where they have a Checkpoint Firewall-1 device) whenever a user attempts to make a TCP connection to an IP-address at the customer site (telnet, FTP, SSH, whatever).

My skills:

• I don't know IOS.
  • I have some basic knowledge of IP routing.
  • I have configured home ADSL routers.
  • I have set up and used Windows based VPNs

I've read Ciscos's datra sheets for the two devices and can see a few relatively minor differences (PAP, CHAP, AES, SSH) but Cisco make it hard to compare the 837 and 857.

Should I buy an 837 or an 857?

Reply to
Ian Wilson
Loading thread data ...

You should also consider the 877 ;-) I think the 837 is EOS (Not sold by Cisco). The main difference is that the 857 supports ADSL2/2+. You are at the upper limit of ADSL, so the 837 might work for you. Get an 857, your provider might offer cheap ADSL2/2+ in the near future. Get an 877 if you want more advanced features such as VLANs (managed 4 port switch).

Reply to
Drake

The 837 is an older product. The 877 is the current equivilent. Not sure when the 837 is slated for EOS/EOE. In the past, cisco offered the 827/837. Current new products are the 857/877.

Software feature wise, you aren't going to find much difference in Cisco within the same class routers. Ie. all the 8xx running the same version of software and same feature license software will support the same things in general.

The main difference is going to be hardware features between the various 8xx boxes. The 857/877 are the new current ones, ie. will have the faster CPU, more options, etc.