Cisco 2511 and SSH (IOS 12.2)

We're using a 2511 as a console server to a rack of servers in our data closet. Telnetting into any server console port has been simple and straight-forward. I upgraded IOS to IOS 12.2 in order to use ssh to encrypt our console sessions.

SSH connecting to the 2511 works fine. However I am now unable to connect to any of the consoles connnected to the system. Even though I specified a no login on all the async lines, I am prompted with a login when I attempt to connect to a port and, after entering a userame and password, everything hangs.

I haven't found any documentation of this problem yet and nothing seems to be amiss in my configuration.

I'd appreciate any ideas anyone may have on this. I'm new to ssh on Cisco.

Thanks.

--ccannick--

Reply to
ccannick
Loading thread data ...

post your current config

Reply to
Merv

Cisco docs indicate that that SSH terminal-line access (reverse Telnet) was introduced in 12.2(2)T

see

formatting link

Try downloading 12.2(15)T7 image c2500-i-l.122-15.T17.bin

Reply to
Merv

I'm running version 122-29 and terminal access is available.

However, after enabling SSH, terminal access to my Sun servers stopped. Only on my Suns, though. It was working correctly under telnet.

The only clue I have is that I'm prompted to login when telnetting to a port even from inside the 2511.

My config shows no login set. I used a no login for all lines but it doesn't show up in the config:

line con 0 line 1 16 modem InOut terminal-type vt100 no exec transport preferred telnet transport input telnet transport output telnet telnet speed 9600 9600 stopbits 1 line aux 0 transport input all line vty 0 4 password 7 13270E544D2E50 transport input telnet ssh ...

Shouldn't I see a line in the config that says 'no login'?

Reply to
ccannick

Try making the following modification to the config and see if that helps

line 1 16 transport input telnet ssh transport output telnet ssh

Cisco da Gama

formatting link

Reply to