Newbie: Punch down block 66 vs 110, how do these work?

Please be kind in your replies, remember I am new to all of this, as you once were too.

My home has a punch down box in it installed by the phone company. It is much smaller than those I see called 66 or 110. The box has four rows and six columns. I can see that all the connections on this punch box block have been used up. I want to add some extensions and wish to replace this punch down box with a larger capacity one.

Now my understand how this 4 x 6 punch down block works is that each row shares the same wire connection to any of the terminals(?), usually connected from the other ends, but I guess it doesn't matter. I don't know if this is a 66 or 110 style punch down box, although I don't know if this matters.

I have looked for larger punch down boxes, but all I can find in the stores is either the 66 or 110. The 66 made by Leviton is "66 Block, Split M, Clips Included". This one has four terminals across and 50 rows. I'm confused, how can I use this to take advantage of adding many extensions in the home for lines 1 and 2? I see this has clips included, but I don't understand how these work. How does this work? Can you connect the 2 wires for line 1 to the first two of the four going across, and the 2nd line for the next two, and then be able to add as many as 49 extensions to this?

I have looked online and some books and have not been able to have this explained clearly to me. I would greatly appreciate it if someone would enlighten me here. Thanks!

Edward

Reply to
eastcoastguyz
Loading thread data ...

I assume you have a varient of this punchdown block.. (The Suttle A66B63 if the page ref doesn't work).

formatting link
Except only 2 pair usable instead of 3 pair usable.