Push a home page when a customer connects to my wireless network

When a customer walks into my client's store and connects to the wireless network I want the first web page they see to be store's home page.

When the customer opens his web browser I want the store's web page to come up.

But when the customer leaves the store I want his home page to be what it was before he came in.

How do I do this?

I'm a computer tech guy and I haven't been able to find this. Please help!

Reply to
Matt Porter
Loading thread data ...

FWIW, on our open access WiFi system, a stranger accessing any URL's root will be redirected to our internal web server (the border router does port forwarding); any URL beyond a root address is returned '404', but with some work and the right web proxy software these too could be redirected. After the stranger authenticates as an IPSec VPN client, the tunneled connection passes http traffic in the normal fashion.

Of course, after tearing down the VPN connection, the stranger's browser will work as it did before.

Regards,

Michael

Reply to
msg

It's called setting up a hotspot. Do some searches on it. You'll need a router that supports being configured to use one.

Reply to
Bill Kearney

Look at the "captive portal" feature of pfSense, it will deny all access to the gateway until the user logs in, which can be as simple as a button (without username or password), a HTTP/HTTPS authentication, various forms of VPN, or whatever else you'd like to add as the base is just BSD.

You can't override the "Home" button on the browser.

Reply to
DevilsPGD

As already said, what you are looking for is a "captive portal".

formatting link
A CP will re-direct the first http request to anywhere you like. From there, you can do whatever you want -- such as make the connectee agree to a disclaimer before going further. (I'm assuming you want it freely open.)

A CP has many other features as well, such as content filtering.