Cable Broadband Gear?

Hi all, Am almost a complete newbie to wireless networking -- with just one failure under my belt so far :-) Would someone please be so good as to advise me what to buy to set up a wireless network with 2 new PC's running Win XP -- we are on cable broadband [ntl] and want to share this plus LAN for files.

Have looked at the Netgear W.A.P. WG 603 and Netgear and various network cards -- its rather confusing and am unsure what's suitable for cable broadband ? What is the difference between what's needed for cable and ADSL lines ? Is a wireless router the same as a wireless access point or something different?

Any answers would be appreciated TIA

-- Kath

Reply to
Kate
Loading thread data ...

"Kate" wrote in news:cu3jm9$ti$1$ snipped-for-privacy@news.demon.co.uk:

You'll want a wire/wireless Access Point NAT router to start with and use it for the gateway device for the LAN (ICS) between machines wired and wireless and is the gateway to the Internet for all machines. They are made for cable, adsl, and dial-up connections.

formatting link
There is also other home networking topics at the top of the link. Also keep in mind about *wireless home security*. There are plenty of links out on Google or
formatting link
showing the how to.

Duane :)

Reply to
Duane Arnold

"Kate" wrote in news:cu3jm9$ti$1$ snipped-for-privacy@news.demon.co.uk:

In the UK, ADSL almost always requires a router with built-in ADSL modem, but that is NOT what you want.

NTLworld broadband uses modems (free-standing or built-in to your set-top box for cable TV) that have both USB and LAN ports. For this you need a router that is often described as "dsl/cable". Examples of wireless variants from Netgear's range are WGT624, WGR614 and MR814.

I suggest you also consider Linksys, Belkin and D-Link brands.

If you want the latest standards, look for Wi-Fi, 802.11g and WPA security support.