802.11n and coffee shops

Hello, I need to get a wifi card for my laptop (no wifi at this time). I'm not an expert on this, hence the reason I'm here - to hear from you experts out there !

WiFi Coffee shops, libraries, etc. are transmitting using what...802.11b/ g ? The newest cards are 802.11n right, so if I get a 802.11n wifi card, will I be able to use it on 802.11b/g network?

Any guidance will be appreciated.

J
Reply to
hdjim69
Loading thread data ...

On Tue, 15 Jan 2008 07:23:59 -0800 (PST), hdjim69 wrote in :

Correct.

PRE-n -- 802.11n has NOT been approved, and there is no guarantee PRE-n products will be compatible with the final standard. I suggest buying a good (and cheaper) G card instead.

Yes.

Reply to
John Navas

Thanks for answering

ok, but what happens when 802.11n does become a standard and coffee shops upgrade, will my 802.11g card still work on an 802.11n network? And if it does, obviously not at full bandwidth...

J
Reply to
hdjim69

On Tue, 15 Jan 2008 08:59:23 -0800 (PST), hdjim69 wrote in :

Your G card will still work, and even a B card is faster than the Internet.

Reply to
John Navas

that always amazes me..... when people say... I need a FAST card with 22mbps or 54mbps - so I can use it at the local WiFi hotspot - that is running a 1.5mbps DSL line !

then again - our local library is running a 20mbps network node on our local muni network node.

Reply to
P.Schuman

Suggestion.. Quit reading ads and listening to the lies by the salespeople.... You used one word above ("obviously"), that assures you have no interest in the truth but in the lies the salesdroids are telling you to try and get your money... Hint.. if their mouth is moving when they talk, they are lying (PS, i'm not a salesdroid and am typing not talking! Whew :)

Reply to
Peter Pan