Usenet allowed from work?

LOL - you wanting the company to SPEND MORE MONEY to support employees abusing the network and company policy. You are unbelievable and unethical.

And in many places 2MBPS is almost impossible to get and even when you can get 2mbps it's going to be expensive.

It's good to see people like you exposed for the unethical hacks they are.

Reply to
Leythos
Loading thread data ...

You don't let somebody screw with your livelihood would taking action against it. This is why I advocate using every countermeasure humanly possible to avoid blocking and/or detection.

However, you can fool the boss by hiding where you are going with an anonymity service, or an open proxy. They would know you went to a certain address, but would not know where you went BEYOND that address.

I dont see anything unethical about wanting to grow your business. Internet radio is how I make my LIVING. And you dont let some filtering program mess with that, without a fight. If you, as network admins, don't like it, tough, this is how I make my living, and will use and advocate the use of every possible countermeasure out there.

As long as you are doing your work, there is no reason not to allow Internet radio in the workplace, and nothing unethical about listening to it, regardless of what company policy may say one way or the other.

It can be spotted, yes, but they do not know where you are going BEYOND that proxy or anonymity service.

Reply to
Chlly8

When 15 meg FIOS connections become more commonplace, they will be available for around US$50 per month, a good bargain for a 15 meg connection. This is less than than what they would pay for 1.5 meg T1 service.

And again, I must say that listening to Internet radio is NOT either unethical, or abuse of company resources. You are entitled to your opinion, but I say that it is NOT unethical or an abuse of company resources to listen to Internet radio.

Reply to
Chlly8