Information on ALGs

hi,

I'm new to the user groups community. I'm not sure if this is the right user groups that I should be posting this question to.

I'm looking for information related to the following ALGs.. MSN, AOL, yahoo messenger & ICQ.

I'm trying to come up with some test cases for testing these ALGs in a home gateway network. But I lack information on the workings of the above services.

I'd appreciate if someone can give me information or pointers to the sources of information on the above? I could get information related to ALGs like FTP, ICMP etc from RFCs. But I'm unable to find any information on these. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance, Revathi

Reply to
meet_revathi
Loading thread data ...

Can you define the term "ALG"?

Can you define what you are looking for in 'Testing"?

K
Reply to
KKadow

In article , wrote: :Can you define the term "ALG"?

Can you quote some of the previous article when you post, so that people have some context to go on? Google has given you a nice graphical interface to Usenet, but a *lot* of people do not use that interface, as it is missing rather a lot compared to many older Usenet newsreaders.

:Can you define what you are looking for in 'Testing"?

I'm not -sure-, but I -suspect- that when the original poster asked for information on "ALGs" for IM, FTP, ICMP and so on, that the original poster was asking for "algorithms". But everything asked about was not an

-algorithm- but rather a protocol (or a protocol suite.)

I would suggest that the original poster should spend a few weeks reading the RFCs at places such as

formatting link

Reply to
Walter Roberson