restrict PC traffic speed on the lan

Cisco 2651XM router I'm looking for a sample config or help which would enable me to restrict the traffic speed of a particular PC on the lan connected to my router. My lan comprises several PC's on 172.16.1.xx, which connects to f0/0, and internet access for the whole lan is via a wic-adsl card in the router. I did a bit of reading on google about this but found it confusing. I understand I have to set up an access list but as a beginner I'm not sure where to start. I use SDM too but that only seems to cater for traffic going out of the router (unless I'm mistaken). What I'd ideally like to do is be able to pick one machine on the lan (eg PC 172.16.1.15) and restrict the speed of all traffic to and from it to say 50Kb/sec. Is that possible? Thanks for any pointers.

Reply to
tg
Loading thread data ...

I should have been clearer: I mean to restrict the traffic speed of 172.16.1.15 to the internet...

Reply to
tg

Yes, that's right. By the time the traffic has come down the wire and arrived at your router, it's already used your bandwidth up. There are certain ways you can convince an endpoint that it can't have the bandwidth it's asking for, but I'm not sure if these are implemented by Cisco routers. Someone will be along soon to enlighten us :-)

Reply to
alexd