cisco wic-1adsl wan card connect to ISP

Cisco 2651XM router fitted with WIC-1ADSL interface card

1) the cisco doc for the wic-adsl card says that when the CD light is flashing this means it's training with DSLAMs, but the light flashes in two different ways, there's a few seconds of fast flashing, followed by a few seconds of slow flashing. What do these two different flashing speeds signify?

2) as a newbie I've been unsuccessful in connecting to my ISP with the wic-adsl card. Before coming here I've been trawling through cisco documents but I can't work out what the correct commands are for a successful connection. I confess I also don't know the command to verify if I have a successful connection or not. My wic card is present in the cli as interface ATM0/0. Here are the details for connecting to my isp, who happens to be a very bog standard UK isp on a BT phone line. Connection type: PPPoA VPI value: 0 VCI Value: 38 Encapsulation type: VC-MUX (or VC based) Modulation: G.DMT (or DMT) Authentication type: CHAP (may be listed as "PAP or CHAP") ADSL Username: username ADSL Password: password

Thanks for any pointers.

Reply to
tg
Loading thread data ...

this means

Different phases of the DSL training up. You can watch the card with the 'show dsl int atm 0/0' command..

Probably PAP and not CHAP...

interface ATM0 no shutdown pvc 0/38 encapsulation aal5mux ppp dialer dialer pool-member 1 interface Dialer1 description PPPoA Dialer ip address negotiated encapsulation ppp dialer pool 1 ppp authentication chap pap callin ppp pap sent-username username password password

Should be straight out of the Cisco docs for doing PPPoA on a cisco router..

Reply to
Doug McIntyre