Home Network Problems (Newbie Questions)

Hi All,

I am a real newbie in setting up routers, this is my first router set up for a small business that I run myself. I have A Cisco 851 router, a printer and two PC's both running Windows XP SP2 (fully updated).

My WAN port on my router is contected to my broadband modem (my PC's share 1 internet connection). My printer and PC's are connected to the LAN ports on the router (all Ethernet). Everything is connected using Cat 5 patch cables. I can access the internet from either PC with no problems whatsoever, I can also print from either PC to the printer which is also connected to the router (and not directly to a PC). However, I can not get my PC's to recognise each other to perform file sharing.

I have a VLAN set up on the router (auto-configured by SDM). Windows firewall is turned off (but Norton is still enabled). I have TCP/IP installed on both machines, I have both machines in the same Workgroup with differenet "Machine Names" and "Descriptions". I have also set up a "network share" folder inside the regular windows share folder that you see when you click "my computer" ("shared documents" and "documents"), I have also tried sharing the whole C drive. In my network places I can see my "workgroup", but when I try to open it/connect no computer names are listed and I get an error message:

"Workgroup is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions. The list of servers for this workgroup is currently unavailable."

However I am presently running an administrator account on both machines to get them set up. Do I have to set permissions for something else? As far as I am aware I don't run a server either, so what "list of servers" should I have?