Clueless newbie questions

I am completely new to the concept of wireless internet and both the terminology and technology involved, so please forgive me for asking probably stupid questions. Please also forgive me for being long-winded in my explanation, but I hope if I explain things as clearly as I can, someone may be able to help me.

I have a Belkin ADSL Modem with Wireless-G Router (# F5D7632uk4) and want to set this up on my computer so that I can connect my son's computer wirelessly to the internet.

2 main problems here: 1) When connecting to the internet via said modem/router, my internet connection kept dropping after about an hour or so and I couldn't work out how to get it back. It just seemed to work again when it felt like it.

2) I'm completely confused as to how to share my internet connection (when it does work) with my son's computer. The user manual that came with the modem/router tells me how to configure the router (and yes, I checked that all my settings were correct), but I couldn't find any explanation on how to get my son's computer to wirelessly share my internet connection.

We both have network cards in our computers - mine's a Desktop Network PCI card, so I can connect the modem/router to my computer, his is a Wireless Desktop Network card with one of those black aerial things sticking out the back, which is meant to connect a desktop PC to a wireless network. Both cards are made by Belkin.

We use different operating systems (my computer is on WinXP, his on WinMe) but I checked thoroughly via WinXP's troubleshooter for incompatibilities and didn't find any.