Cisco Router for BGP and DS3

I am looking for the least expensive cisco router that I can put in a colocation center. It will connect to an outgoing DS3 port going to another router 90 miles away. Thats where we need the bandwidth mainly is 90 miles away. At the colocation center it will will run BGP accross 2 providers on

2 likely gigabit fiber ports. It will announce 4-8 class C's for me.

I have never worked with BGP before. I was wandering if the 3745 is beefy enough to handle this. I heard for BGP I need at least 512M of RAM. Most likely for the next year or so we will not excede 20mbps of traffic on this. Right now we have 9mbps and are upgrading.

M
Reply to
M
Loading thread data ...

Pretty sure a 3745 will do you just fine. I have a very similar scenario at a small DC with a 3845, and run a DS3 and two gig copper connections, and that runs three routing protocols including BGP. It is not an internet router, so perhaps you may want to look into the internet routing table size, but you can always just summarize into a default route if it doesn't cause trouble elsewhere in your network. Your provider should be able to help you there if this is internet facing. In short, bandwidth isn't your issue, the full bgp routing table is where you need to be careful.

Reply to
Trendkill

This is going to be on the Internet and need the full routing table. I heard for that you need at least 512M of RAM.

M
Reply to
M

I cannot validate that requirement, perhaps someone else on the board can. However, it does sound legitimate. 3745's do have a 512 mem option, so you should be fine. I ran some 3600 routers with the full internet table for quite some time in previous employment, so I think the 3700 platform should suffice fine, but I would encourage you to speak with your SE about the mem requirements.

Reply to
Trendkill