Did I mention how much I hate Panduit jacks?

I've been a Leviton installer for years and, on small and medium jobs, it's common to pull multiple cables without tagging them, trim the jacks, then tone them for placement on a patch panel.

It didn't seem like a big deal to do this on my 28 drop Panduit job. If you've never done Panduit jacks, the particular ones I used have a rectangular collar that you fan the wires through, being careful to put the brown pair on top, the orange pair on the bottom and try to make the blue pair lean to the inside of the collar and the green pair to the outside. On the long ends of the rectangle are 4 slots. You use the guide on the side of the jack for A or B termination and drop the wires into the slots. Then you take a pair of small dikes and trim the inside wires, push the head of the jack into a tab in the collar and use a tool (channel locks or equivalent) to squeeze the jack on the collar until it cliicks. Of course, I've already got my Leviton jack terminated while you're still trimming wires, but that's another thread.

So I get down to my last 10 jacks under the retail counter, in the dark, and I have a huge brain fart. Now I start testing. About half way through the testing, the Scanner starts giving me errors. Some doofus reversed 7&8!! Geeze I wanted it to be on the patch panel so bad, but I'm not that lucky. Now it's time to UNSCREW the faceplates, pop the heads off the collar, reverse the pair, squeeze the head on the collar, retest, and screw the faceplate back in and put those little plastic things back in the holes.

My fingers are worn to the quick :-)

Carl "they'll be O.K. by Monday" Navarro

Reply to
Carl Navarro
Loading thread data ...

Carl Navarro wrote in part:

Well, at least you've toned them out so know where the misterminations are, right?

Cordless electric screwdrivers take most of the RSI grief out of the job, as does a termination biscuit.

Still, my sympathies.

-- Robert

Reply to
Robert Redelmeier