Pix 520 - Can it log bandwidth usage?

Hi, I have a PIX 520 in a rack with 8 servers behind it. It's a very simple setup as I have little knowledge of Cisco Pix systems. All the servers behind the firewall are working fine with various web servers etc running and all accessible from the outside world. What I want to do though is see how much bandwidth each server is using. Can this be done by monitoring the outside interface of the Pix 520 or will it only log the IP's and ports as opposed to the actual volume of data per IP?

Any help would be great. thanks.

Reply to
yoyo
Loading thread data ...

PIX 5.x and 6.x only allow SNMP monitoring of total traffic per interface, with no SNMP ability to monitor traffic per IP.

The message logs for PIX 5.x and PIX 6.x do not provide any summary of traffic: only volume counts per TCP or UDP connection (other kinds of traffic are not counted.)

You might wish to extend the program that I posted in

formatting link

Reply to
Walter Roberson

Hello,

If you have a spare PC and know linux/UNIX, you can use

formatting link

This tool is realy good to display traffic statistics. If you have to monitor gig ports, it wil take a lots of RAM and CPU (preferably dual).

The only problem with this tools, it is working only in memory. so if you reboot the PC you lost all your info.

I used to monitor 350 computer in 4 differents sites...

If you need help set this up let me know.

Reply to
Krou

Unfortunately you wrote this without quoting any context. Ah, you are using googlegroups, so you might be under the impression that everyone can easily see the context "right there", but that is far far from the case. The original message has probably expired for many of the readers of this Usenet newsgroup.

According to ntop.org, ntop works by sniffing traffic, except that it can also work as a NetFlow/sFlow collector. Therefor in order to apply ntop to the situation, the original poster would have to be able to do one of the following: