pix log question

How can I scan the log for a certain IP address? This is my first time running a pix and the logging is tough.

Reply to
LWG
Loading thread data ...

In article , LWG wrote: :How can I scan the log for a certain IP address? This is my first time :running a pix and the logging is tough.

PIX can log to memory, but it does not save very many entries at at time... a few hundred at most. If the entry you are looking for happens to be in the log buffer and you have a new enough PIX version, then you can do, e.g.,

show log | grep 192.168.1.123

Beyond that you will have to have the PIX log via syslog (normally udp port 514) to a computer system, at which point it becomes a matter of how that particular computer system allows you to search logs. If you are logging via a traditional syslogd that writes to a file, you can use, e.g.,

grep 192.168.1.123 /var/logs/pixlog

where /var/logs/pixlog is the name of the file your syslogd is writing to. [If you are using one of the Windows syslog daemons, then... urrr, Microsoft probably has an add-on package they can sell you to search whatever prioprietary file format is used.]

There are a couple of tricks you should know about searching the PIX logs:

- Messages about traffic permitted, or about translations built or torn down, always use the numeric address

- If you have used the PIX 'name' command to establish a readable name for an IP address, then the PIX will use the name (not the numeric IP address) in any message about traffic denied [that I can think of at the moment.]

- Messages about VPNs can be a bit of a mix, -mostly- using names when available, but sometimes using IP addresses even when a name exists

Thus if you have used 'name' for an IP address and you are looking for information about that IP address, and you want all kinds of messages about it, then you should search for both the name and the IP address.