urgent - pls help

Hi

I am NOT technical...that is why this question...I apologize if is sounds stupid.

We have Comcast broadband internet service now .. for 2 Desktops and 2 laptops.

Of these, 1 desktop and the 2 laptops are used using Netgear Wireless equipment.

Currently ...we have a Comcast/ Scientic Atlanta Modem and a Netgear wireless router.

Now

we want to change to SBC Yahoo DSL...

can we use the same equipment that we have been using with Comcast or

will we need to get new equipment.

If not, what equipment will we have to get ?

I am assuming that with DSL we can continue to use the same desktops and laptops wirelessly.

Pls help

Thanks in advance Anna

Reply to
anna
Loading thread data ...

Yes. After registering (one computer connected directly to the modem), open the modem gui (http://192.168.0.1), click on advanced, click on PPP Location, choose PPP on Computer. Follow the instructions on screen (the modem access code is on the bottom of the modem) and wait for it to restart.

Connect the modem to the router. Set your new emailaddress(at)sbcglobal.net and password as the PPPoE userid and password in the router.

Hopefully your region doesn't get the 1070b modem, 'cause the above instructions only apply to the 5100B and 4100B.

Reply to
Kay Archer

my shoes because

Don't hurt yourself. We all make mistakes.

Reply to
Kay Archer

| Yes. After registering (one computer connected directly to the modem), open | the modem gui (http://192.168.0.1), click on advanced, click on PPP | Location, choose PPP on Computer. Follow the instructions on screen (the | modem access code is on the bottom of the modem) and wait for it to restart. | | Connect the modem to the router. Set your new | emailaddress(at)sbcglobal.net and password as the PPPoE userid and password | in the router. | | Hopefully your region doesn't get the 1070b modem, 'cause the above | instructions only apply to the 5100B and 4100B. |

Kay: