Strongest Wireless Channel

My laptop seems to connect to my Linksys router much stronger when I switch the router to channel 11 from 6. Does this make sense? TIA

Reply to
carleeniet
Loading thread data ...

one possible explanation is that there is less interference on that channel.

Reply to
JeB

I thought about that but I am new to this and you guys are the the experts here. Thank you for the reply.

Reply to
carleeniet

Everyones circumstances are different.

Thank you for reporting your findings, it could definitely help someone else.

Reply to
Curly Bill

snipped-for-privacy@yazoo.com hath wroth:

Not really. How much stronger? What hardware? External aftermarket antennas? Home made antennas?

Most very high gain (19-24dBi) antennas just barely have enough bandwidth to cover the 83.5MHz width of the 2.4GHz band. Same with some really tiny ceramic substrate 2.4GHz antennas. Typically, they will have about a 3dB gain variation across the band. However, this is not the case with typical 2dBi vertical coaxial and colinear antennas which have more than adequate bandwidth. There are also ceramic bandpass filters on the antenna connection of most access points and some client adapters to reduce interference from adjacent services. These are not all that flat across the band and do vary with production lots. There is also usually a matching network between the antenna and the PIN diode diversity switch, which can also be frequency sensitive. In other words, there are plenty of components that can cause differences in gain across the band.

For a good clue, search the FCC ID web site for your unspecified model hardware and look at the test report. You'll see that the transmit power varies somewhat across the band. The receiver sensitivity does the same thing, but that's not in the report.

Reply to
Jeff Liebermann