Simplest, most rugged sat. mobile internet system?

I'm new to the concept of satellite internet. What I want to so is have a system that several RVer's can share. I would like to put a dish on a trailer and put a pc inside the trailer, something that can be towed anywhere in the US and lower Canada, and used behind several RVs.

But some of the RVer's aren't very technically oriented. I need advice to know what the best satellite and ISP would be particularly based on the ease of use and durability. Also, is the idea of a dish on little trailer a practical idea?

Reply to
Sam
Loading thread data ...

I'm not sure if I'm even in the right group?

Reply to
Sam

Check the group rec.outdoors.rv-travel and ask there. A bunch of people already have mobile internet sat on their RV's.

Reply to
Peter Pan

Try

formatting link

Reply to
Michael Shaffer

Thx. It looks like a good site.

Reply to
Sam

formatting link

Is anyone else getting "The Webpage That You Seek Cannot Be Retrieved"?

Also at

formatting link

Reply to
William P.N. Smith

DirecWay offers a satellite WISP in a box for campgrounds.

formatting link
<
formatting link

Reply to
dold

Darn. That used to work.

That one looks okay today. "DIRECWAY Wi-Fi Access is a simple, turnkey way to provide customers with high-speed Internet access. "

Reply to
dold

Won't work. Two problems.

1. DirectWay dishes are installed by professional installers. The reason is that this is not just a pizza dish receiver. It's a transmitter. Point it at the wrong satellite (bird) and you'll knock some other service off the air. That's exactly what happened when Gilat (Starband) first appeared and did a few customer self-installs. Installs were halted until the existing installation were corrected.