Range on a pair of Belkin 54G routers in wireless bridge mode?

What's the expected range on a pair of Belkin 54G routers in wireless bridge mode?

I've seen someone mention on at least one web tech support forum that they were having troubles staying connected 100% of the time, but they then went on to say that they were trying to bridge 400 feet, from one building to another building. Can I expect similar results?

What frequencies are used in Belkin's bridge-to-bridge mode? I assume it may not be standard because Belkin's bridge mode only works with other Belkin WAP's.

Also can I replace one of the stock omni-directional antennas with a cantenna to use along the bridge line of sight? If the bridge mode frequency is different than standard 802.11b's 2.412 GHz or so, I'll need to know that to calculate my can radius and quarter-wavelength distance, yada yada yada...

Reply to
Bill Evans
Loading thread data ...

Probably. (I have no experience specifically with Belkin equipment, but unless there is something very unusual about it there won't be any real difference as far as range goes.)

However, 400 feet from one building to another, works if and only if certain things happen to be true. You simply will not get good results going through walls, and some walls (metal) are absolutely killers. Hence you will do much better if you can place both units in a window, for example. Or even outside if you manage that. And the higher the elevation the better, because reflections from vehicles on the ground can cause signals to fade too.

Hence worst case is two units at ground level with a two or more walls between them, and best case is both units sitting in a 4th story window with an unobstructed view of each other.