newbe question: I know wireless is slower but......

There's definately something wrong... Shouldn't effect performance more than maybe 5-10%...

Reply to
Peter Pan
Loading thread data ...

Wireless is certainly slower than most networks, but much faster than DSL or cable speeds. You shouldn't notice any slowdown using Wireless to access the Internet, but will transfer files, etc. accross your local network slower.

Check to see if you are having connection problems, interference, etc.

Reply to
Jerry Park

I'm a newbie. I just hooked up a wireless router and noticed an annoying lag when opening web pages.

The salesman, where I bought the router, had told me to plug the router directly into my existing firewall. When I learned that the router itself was a firewall, I removed my old router and the lag disappeared.

Could that be your problem??

Reply to
Ken Morano

Using DSL, you probably need to adjust the MTU (maximum transmission unit). If it is incorrect for PPPoE (DSL) you will have alot of re-transmission and slow things down. Typically PPPoE dsl is set to 1492. You can check it and adjust it using DrTCP

formatting link
. 1492 isnt set in concrete. You may ask your service provider what is the proper MTU to use.

Wireless to

local

Reply to
Airhead

Typically

PS. Your router may have an option to set the MTU on it. If so try this first.

Reply to
Airhead

Hi, I just connected up a wireless router to my DSL system. It's an INEXQ model ISW54U (802-11G) and found that the performance is MUCH slower than without it. My desktop, which is connected via hardwired Ethernet cable to the router, is experiencing network speeds that are only 1/4 of what they are if I directly connect it to my cable modem.

I know that wireless adds overhead etc. but this is really a bit much. But as I said, I'm a newbe so perhaps it's just my expectations? Am I being too demanding or is there something wrong that I should be trying to debug?

Reply to
Bob Stanish