Wireless network question

Suggest you Google the question while waiting for responses in this group. I suspect the replies are going to be along the line of "it depends on the equipment".

From prior experience I suggest you buy the router at Costco, which has a very easy return policy on computer stuff.

LB

Reply to
LB
Loading thread data ...

I'm relatively new to wireless networking at home and would like to get some information before I spend the money to set up a network at home.

I'm thinking about adding a wireless router (11g or 11N) at home. The plan is to add the wireless router to my DSL connection and one PC connected via ethernet cable. The other PC would have a wireless (11g or

11N) card in it to access the DSL connection wirelessly, as well as a printer connected to the hardwired PC.

The question is based on our use of a 2.4Ghz cordless telephone. It is my understanding that the wireless routers use the 2.4 Ghz spectrum. However, when we run our microwave oven, our 2.4Ghz telephone is rendered almost useless until the microwave is done. Would the wireless router be affected the same way as the cordless phone? Would the router and remote PC re-establish the connection automatically if the microwave interferes?

Any help/suggestions would be appreciated.

Bob

Reply to
rpaster

I have two 2.4 Ghz phones and a microwave in addition to my 11b router. I get very little interference in either phone, and after choosing the best channel for my house, my network doesn't seem to notice when any of the other devices are in use. But, YMMV, depending on details of your setup. Make sure you get a good return policy, and give it a try.

Reply to
Rick Wintjen

-=[ snippety snip ]=-