Need Help with D-link DI-524 and Setting up File Sharing

I just bought this on the weekend and am using the DI-524 on a Windows

98se computer. The wireless USB adaptor is on my newer Win XP computer. I had it set up and sharing the Internet in about 10 minutes. I cannot however share files from one computer to another wirelessly with this setup (or is it even possible)? I am new to this networking stuff and would like to know what this wireless router is capable of. Do I have to use an ethernet cable connected from the router to my XP computer to share files? I mainly bought the DI-524 to share files from one computer to another (wirelessly) but have come up empty after several hours of exhaustive research even checking out the D-link website. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Reply to
Harry King
Loading thread data ...

To risk stating the obvious, do you have File and Printer Sharing enabled?

Reply to
Joseph Stewart

Hi Joseph

I enabled file and print sharing, on the host computer I chose a folder to share and I got the little icon of the "hand" on the shared folder. I cannot see the shared folder on the client computer. I checked "my network neighborhood" and it is empty. It acts like the network doesn't exist. I also tried running the "network setup wizard" on the XP computer but it attempts to create a floppy disk and I don't have a floppy drive on my new computer so that's about as far as I get. The documentation with the router does not really address file sharing so I'm stuck...

Reply to
Harry King

Thanks for the suggestion David, I've tried that also and got a message that said the folder could not be found.

Reply to
Harry King

I have Zone Alarm on my host computer and I have Norton Internet security on the client. Is it possible that one of them is causing the problem? As I stated earlier the Internet connection is being shared by both computers.

Reply to
Harry King

Reply to
Harry King