is it this simple?

Total newbie to laptops here. Just got a laptop, and want to use it portable at hotspots, from time-to-time.

I've put in a PCMCIA 802.11b/802.11g wireless card, and will have installed the softwarein a day or two.

From that point on, is it as simple as going to a hotspot, turning the laptop on, and the internet connection will be automatic?

Reply to
rb
Loading thread data ...

"rb" writes: (snip)

Pretty much, yes. Usually at such places your first Internet access will have to be through the web: they will have an intercepting proxy that, whatever web page you try to look at, first you have to accept their terms and conditions or suchlike. Then once you've done so things should just work.

Try to find a seat where you can plug in. Wifi can rather reduce how long your machine can run on batteries alone.

-- Mark

Reply to
Mark T.B. Carroll

Yep, it is very simple, but having your software to "automatically connect" to anything and everything available isn't a good idea.

I don't know if you are talking about about "going around to [public] hotspots:, but if you are, something to consider: