Looking For Info - Pro/Con on Fax Server System

At work we've been contemplating going to a fasx server, and finally the ball is rolling. We are supposed to determine how many fax lines we have thrupout the district, and we thing it's about 150. We have a server and will probably get a bundle pkg with the software.

What I'd like to know is what the pros and cons are of going to this system. I've heard that the fax spammers will war dial a server (U. of Washington had this happen) and tie up all the fax lines. Also I'm guessing that a single ISDN PRI (23B + D) will be enough to serve this many lines. We intend to have the incoming faxes come into our Outlook inboxes. We have a number of Xerox Workcentres that can scan a hardcopy in and put it into the fax software to send.

I guess we have to make a list of analog fax lines so that SBC can arrange for termination and swing over to the new system. I have some PBX experience but nothing having to do with fax servers. Your good experiences and horror stories will be much appreciated. Thanks.

-- @@F@r@o@m@@O@r@a@n@g@e@@C@o@u@n@t@y@,@@C@a@l@,@@w@h@e@r@e@@ ###Got a Question about ELECTRONICS? Check HERE First:###

formatting link
email address is whitelisted. *All* email sent to it goes directly to the trash unless you add NOSPAM in the Subject: line with other stuff. alondra101 hotmail.com Don't be ripped off by the big book dealers. Go to the URL that will give you a choice and save you money(up to half).
formatting link
You'll be glad you did! Just when you thought you had all this figured out, the gov't changed it:
formatting link

Reply to
Watson A.Name - "Watt Sun, th
Loading thread data ...

The number of incoming fax lines is not really the issue. The issue is going to be the total amount of time all the lines spend sending and receiving faxes.