Trade mags, websites, other resources for newbie tech

Hello,

I'm just getting started in the trade (as a tech) and I have been reading back posts here - only 21,000 more to go!

I'd like to get some opinions (danger Will Robinson, danger) on several areas of the trade.

1. Trade Magazines (not to learn nitty gritty but for overview/new products & technologies)

I signed up for the following and have listed them in my current order of preference: Security Dealer Security Products SDM Security Sales & Integration Security Technology & Design Security Systems News (seems to be more business than tech)

Are there others that I should be looking at? Are any of the above known to pander to advertisers?

1. Websites I just found the forum at
    formatting link
    and am downloading the DSC and Visonic manuals to look over.

What other websites are good?

1. Of all the brands and makes out there, which ones should a new tech learn/look at first. I'm a bit confused who owns/recently bought who. I'm in Southern Nevada if region matters.

DSC Visonic Ademco Caddx Linear ITI GE Honeywell others?

Thanks!

Jay

Reply to
jay
Loading thread data ...

I prefer SDM, the tech tips and the quiz page are a good source of basics. Be cautious about what you read here, 99%bs and 1%true.

James

Reply to
J Barnes

Go to the next ISC Show (in Vegas), it's usually in January I believe. You'll get TONS of crap to carry home :-)

Reply to
Crash Gordon

You might want to try CE Pro Magazine.

Quite diversified. In addition to alarms .... it covers some of the other related tech items having to to with audio, video, communications, LAN wiring, home automation.

Although considered by many here to be difficult to program, Napco is just about the most versatile panel available. The difficulty in programing only applies if you don't use a laptop to program. With a laptop it's real easy but keypad programing is a real bear.

Reply to
Jim

Hi James,