Question on Which Brand to Buy

Hello group. I am building a new townhouse and pre-wiring for an alarm system comes with the package. I am new to all this so I am asking for guidance on type and brand. Here are my thoughts:

I will have 2800 square feet (finished basement with egress windows, main level with two entry doors (front and rear) and an upstairs with three bedrooms). I am mostly concerned with intrusion detection and not fire. I am thinking door, window and motion detection for basement and main level would be adequate (nothing upstairs). A keypad and some type of remote keypad/buzzer in the master bedroom. I would like a system that is capable of connecting to my home network and Internet and be capable of emailing my blackberry for all events (arm, disarm, alarm). I don't want my system monitored and not really sure I want a big bell on the outside of the house but I do want to be awaken in the middle of the night should an alarm get tripped. Being able to add video in the future would be nice as well.

I believe in buying quality especially for something like an alarm system and the ability to do upgrades is important as well. I am somewhat familiar with ADEMCO, APEX and OMNI. Does anyone have any thoughts on any of this or care to share a personal experience with alarm systems pitfalls? Thanks in advance.

Reply to
Lance
Loading thread data ...

"I believe in buying quality especially for something like an alarm system".

You should consider having a fire alarm; no matter what system you have installed.

Just my two cents.

Norm Mugford

I choose Polesoft Lockspam to fight spam, and you?

formatting link

Reply to
Norm Mugford

AT&T 8300 should do fine

Reply to
Mark Leuck

Nah, Moose Z1250........ :-))

Reply to
Russell Brill