Just "Inherited" Brinks System & Want to Know Options

If the box says: Property of Brinks...they own it.

All the Brinks stuff I've run into is proprietary anyway, you can't - nor can any other alarmco reprogram it.

Reply to
Crash Gordon
Loading thread data ...

Hello.

I have just purchased a new-to-me home and it came with a Brinks (wired) alarm system. Don't know the age of it but it has to be 6 years old or less. I'm not interested in signing up with Brinks' service ($35/mo) but have read that I will probably have to replace several components if I want to be free from Brinks and still use it (with or without another service).

Is this true?

If my only option is to replace components (keypads (2), controller (?), etc.), what would be the process involved and where/which components do I need to replace?

I work in the computer industry so am comfortable with wiring, PCs, etc. but am just learning about alarm systems. The current alarm system consists of:

- 2 Keypads (Brinks)

- 1 Glass Break Sensor

- 4 Door Sensors

- 1 or 2 Smoke Sensors

- 2 or 3 Heat Sensors

- Controller Box (?)

- Battery Box (?)

- Relay Box (?) near 2nd Keypad

- Alarm Horn in attic

- Alarm located in HVAC return register

I would appreciate any and all suggestions for my situation. Though not required, if the expense was not too high, I would be interested in connecting the system to a PC for whatever control this would provide.

Thanks!

Reply to
RZ

I appreciate your responses.

I'm speaking as a newbie but from what I've read, someone with the right equipment CAN actually re-program it, but that's not what I want to do.

Other than the keypads & controller panel (?), most or the rest of the system is from other manufacturers such as Ademco. So, I would like to know what options I have. Any other ideas out there?

Thanks.

Reply to
RZ

If it's ademco then all you really will have to replace is the panel itself...and don't answer the phone if Brinks calls.