New home - Essential Wiring?

I am currently building a new house. I am almost to the point of insulating and sheetrock so before i made that step i wanted to ask here if there are any suggestions as to extra wiring i should run to be ready to add some home automation equipment in the future. I have little to no experience in this but it is something i definitely want to get into with this house. I have no attic so it will be a major pain to add wiring after the fact.

I have cat 5 cable run to all the rooms but i was curious as to weather i should run it to the thermostat and or utility closet? i would like to be able to control the heating a/c eventually but i'm not sure what type of cable if any i will need in place to facilitate that.

or anything else that will be helpful in the future.

thanks!

Reply to
tosh
Loading thread data ...

Absolutely. Also run CAT5 from the wiring closet to the furnace room.

In addition to data cable, consider running wire (22/4 solid) for door sensors and motion detectors. This will give whatever home automation system you choose a way to know when people enter/exit and when someone is at home.

Many of my home automation clients also like to wire the windows if they can be opened from the outside. By "bugging" the windows and doors you provide the HA system with the ability to protect against burglary

-- a nice fringe benefit. The magnetic sensors (called "contacts") for protecting doors and windows are quite inexpensive, on the order of $2-4 apiece.

Some people like to wire for remote speakers which can connect to the home's main stereo system. This can be as simple as 16/4 stranded cable running to a volume control located next to the light switch in each room and 16/2 running from there to the two speakers. More elaborate systems require a CAT5 cable run to the volume control as well. You can even run shielded video cable to the rooms if you like.