Scripting 101

Scripting 101

This post is in response to a query in another thread regarding a comment I made about scripting. I use scripting extensively in my home automation environment and it allows me to quickly create software to control the diverse hardware I have installed.

First, a disclaimer; I am not a computer programmer by training - I'm an E.E. The only formal programming training I had in school was with a language called Fortran. Heck, most of the stuff I use today didn't even exist when I was in school. For the most part, what I've learned first came from comments by colleagues or references I've run across reading newsgroups, web pages, technical journals, etc. I'd then dig in a bit to find out more and see if it was something that might apply to what I was doing at work or home. A small percentage of the time I'd come across a real "jewel" that then became part of my "toolbox" going forward. A perfect example of this is scripting languages, which I've been using both at work and home for a long time. Further disclaimer; everything below is from my perspective as an engineer with

30 years experience designing hardware and occasional software. Any omissions or errors are mine and mine alone.

A BIT OF HISTORY: