How to connect cable modem to OnQ 1x12 Telecom w/ WAN

Hi,

Just got a new home with an OnQ panel and completely lost as to how to connect the router and cable modem to the OnQ system in order to access internet connection from every room. I've tried calling OnQ and the builder and none were helpful.

I have a 1x12 Telecom with WAN, cable internet access and a router. What is the best way to hook these up? The 1x6 Telecom Module has the Line In and 6 connectors all wired. There is a cat5 running from the test/bridge jack to the bridge in jack on the 6 Port Telecom Expansion. There are no wires connected to any of the 6 connectors on the Telecom Expansion. Do I have to do some sort of wire patching on the connectors? How do I do it?

I have limited knowledge about telecom and networking so please help me out! Thanks!

Reply to
bobocat38
Loading thread data ...

There are a number of ways these modules can be set up, and it depends some on the jack configuration in the room. Can you post some pictures of your cabinet, on the 'net somewhere? It'd be more helpful than a textual description.

In general, though, you connect patch cords from each port on your router to the cabinet jacks which correspond to the room jacks you want to use.

Reply to
E. Lee Dickinson

You're talking wired ethernet, right? Then you've got to connect a wall-plate RJ45 socket eventually to a switch, which is in turn connected to the router and then on to the cable modem. I don't know the OnQ stuff but it sounds like you've got patching setup for the phone part of the telco. What about ethernet? What's in each room? One or two RJ45 jacks with CAT5?

Reply to
wkearney99

Can't find my digicam anywhere, but here's a pic of the module from a product manual I found on the web.

formatting link