Zone Alarm, or...

I've been running Zone Alarm Pro on several machines for several years, and tolerated its quirks - until now. Finally got fed up when latest version managed to mess with some driver updates, until one thing led to another and I wound up having to do a complete reinstall of the machine.

Now I don't know whether to revert to an earlier version, or live without Zone Alarm and rely on XPs firewall (and my router). Thing is, I did like Zone Alarm's unobtrusive removal of spyware and popup blocking. Can anyone suggest a good replacement for these features, or an alternative approach altogether?

Thanks, Paladin.

Reply to
Sirgruffil
Loading thread data ...

Spyware removal does not really work, cannot work. You should not rely on it.

And popup blocking every browser can do itself with one exception - and this exception you better should not use at all.

See the above.

Yours, VB.

Reply to
Volker Birk

"And popup blocking every browser can do itself with one exception - and this exception you better should not use at all."

Huh?

Notan

Reply to
Notan

Internet Exploder in older versions.

Yours, VB.

Reply to
Volker Birk

You need to get it right then and stop making a general statement like that.

Duane :)

Reply to
Duane Arnold

Do you mind my asking why you believe that "Spyware removal does not really work, cannot work"?

Thanks.

Reply to
Paladin

I agree with:

formatting link
Spyware is a kind of malware. There is no exact way to distinguish Spyware from other malware, which implements the Trojan horse pattern.

Yours, VB.

Reply to
Volker Birk

I like that link. It's a keeper.

Reply to
Duane Arnold

What about installing disk image(s) that were made prior to the machine being infected with malware. Seems that was overlooked in their solutions. Casey

Reply to
Casey